Raspberry Plant Tissue Culture

Well I had to apologize to a raspberry plant today.  I’ve been messing around with tissue culture and successfully established bush cherry and blueberry, but have had failure with raspberry.  Someone had just asked me how it was going and I pronounced raspberry as utter and complete failure, a pox on them.  But while tossing away the dead ones I found out that behind those vials were a batch where the majority of the Ukee raspberry was putting good growth on after only a couple weeks. 

So I’m cautiously optomistic that we’ll be able to have raspberry established in culture.  And next time I’ll look twice before bad-mouthing a plant that is obviously giving its all.

2 Responses

  1. Interesting post… I’m not surprised that you are taking on this kind of ‘challenge’ at culturing berries. Once you change the hormones, so that roots appear, will the resulting plants be transplantable, even though they’ve been kept away from the normal unsterile pathogens? Oh BTW, thanks for your referral to “The Holistic Orchard”. It is having me dust off a few cobwebs from my brain.

    • Jane- no, once it is rooted it still needs to be acclimated, either by floating it in tapwater or under a humidity dome where the humidity is slowly lowered, about a 1-2 month process. They are then grown in flats and ready to field-plant the next year.

Leave a Reply

