Climate Change

Well, it’s worse than I thought; turns out back in the ’70’s they were worried about climate change also.  Make that the 1870’s.  On page 101 of the January, 1876 issue of The American Agriculturist there’s an article encouraging people to plant an apple orchard, and apparently some were under the impression that the climate in the eastern U.S.A. was changing, and apples did not grow as well as before.  To this the author states “The idea that our climate has changed, is a fiction.  Apples grow in our older states in as great perfection as they ever did, if the orchards are properly cared for.”  I don’t know if a spate of either colder or warmer weather caused this speculation, but it goes to show that the only constant is change. 

People have asked if I think the climate is changing, and if human activity is causing it.  I really don’t know, nor am I that concerned; I’m convinced that the rapid decay of our culture  will doom us much sooner than an eventual few degrees of climate change.  Sin and godlessness is the ultimate in unsustainability.  But cheer up, the solution is right at hand; “If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear them from heaven and heal their land” (2 Chronicals 7:14).

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

