GoldRush 2010

Last year I described GoldRush as similar to a good Fuji.  Zowie, not this year; the acid content has been ramped way up for some reason, but still is really good.  I’ve heard they mellow a bit in storage, which the one I tasted this afternoon could have used.  I don’t know why this is, as we’ve had a roller coaster fall alternating really hot weather with cool rainy weather.  The leaves on some of the trees are starting to turn, signaling fall (OK, winter) but the GoldRush are still hanging on.  I’m going to leave another apple on the tree til Christmas to see if that makes much difference; but the one I just ate is acting more like the famous “sweet-tart” GoldRush I’ve heard so much about back East.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

