Gravenstein

I thought I had lost all the Gravenstein blossoms to the earwigs, but apparently they missed on on my tiny tree.  I was able to get this guy just in time before it started going mushy, and true to Gravenstein’s nature, it was crisp, juicy, very tart/sweet and full of apple aroma.  I wish I had a whole tub of them to make pies, cider, caramel apples, and the like.  This ripened a bit later than the ones in the mountains, a nice taste of early fall (even though it is suppoesed to hit 105 today here).

By the way these are best picked a little green, and eat or process these fast- they don’t keep worth a darn.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

