Bud Graft Push

Happy Valentine’s Day!

After last week’s cold rain and mountain snow, the skies have cleared up and today was a glorious Southern California winter day with blue skies, snow-capped mountains, trees full of ripe oranges, and 80 degree weather.  I had to find some excuse to go out into the back yard, and found it in the form of the potted “sleeping eye” above which is a bud from Anna apple grated onto a seedling rootstock. 

Once again, a bud graft took and is starting to push growth from the bud (to see me doing one of these grafts, click on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=islhXlUk9N8 )  I’m still amazed when seeing a graft starting to take, as I don’t fully understand how it could be, and neither can the botanists who study these types of things.  All I can say is that its the finger of God, where you can take a slice of one plant, fit it imperfectly onto a wound on another plant in unsterile conditions, and it take so readily and knit into one single plant, all the while maintaining the seperate attributes of the two plants.  Without this process we would starve, as most wild apples are inedible for eating fresh and the only way to perpetuate good ones is by grafting.

Speaking of which the first of my rootstocks arrive tomorrow, and so once again I’ll disappear down into the basement every evening and weekend for a month, my wife seeing me just long enough to eat dinner.   Soon hundreds of tiny benchgrafts will also be amazing novice growers with the miracle of grafts starting to push.  How you can see something like this and still be an athiest, I don’t know.

One Response

  1. I have always found grafting to be an incredibly amazing phenomenon. It is probably true, without it we would not have many edible apples. I would love to learn how to do it. Thanks for the picture!

Leave a Reply

