WineCrisp

WineCrisp

I received a nice email from Schulyer Korban at the PRI (Purdue, Rutgers, University of Illinois) breeding program inviting me to test their latest release, WineCrisp.  For some reason all the PRI varieties I’ve tried have done very well here in our hot climate, and I have high hopes for this one.

Licensing on new varieties like this are very strict, and even for testing it was prohibitive on the small scale I do; however, all is not lost as Schulyer told me the orchards that have been licensed to propagate, and so I ordered some benchgrafts from Kickapoo Orchard in Wisconsin.  If you’re wanting to try it send an email to Bill Meyer at mmmeyer@mwt.net  The benchgrafts are $5 each plus shipping; there may be a minimum quantity.

The WineCrisp Description  can be seen at the PRI website by clicking here

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

