Festival of Fruit

 crfg_sml_new.gif
I’ve been invited to be a speaker in September at the California Rare Fruit Grower’s Festival of Fruit.  It’s their big annual conference, and this year it’s at Cal State Fullerton. 
This is really weird for me, as until a couple years ago I had no interest in horticulture; now I find myself lecturing to people who have done it their whole lives, some of who have graduate degrees and years of research experience.  I’m to tell them the big secret to growing apples in a warm climate, when the secret is basically to stick the tree in the ground and water it (OK, it’s a little more complicated than that, but not much).
But then people come up to me afterwards and say how much they enjoyed my talk and thank me and buy my book and my trees.  I’m humbled by the experience and grateful to God for putting me in the right place at the right time.  I wish I could say this was the result of great foresight and planning on my part, but I just stumbled into this position and was stupid enough to try something everyone else said wouldn’t work (and usually there’s a good reason for that). 
There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

