It Worked Again!

The apple grafts are starting to sprout tender green leaves.  The miracle of grafting once again worked. 

 The first year I did mass grafting I grafted up about 250 benchgraft apple trees.  When you plant them in the ground, they’re pretty pathetic-looking; just about a 2″ skinny bare stick poking out of the ground. 

After they were all either planted or potted, I stood there looking over them and a moment of panic swept over me; what if it didn’t work?  What if my grafting technique (which I had only done a time or two many years before) was wrong, and all these little trees would die?  Moreover, what if the apple trees never bore fruit?  It would be a huge, embarrasing, expensive mistake and I’d feel like a fool.  I’d never hear the end of it from my coworkers, family, and friends.

But alas, little green sprouts came up on one, then another, then more, until there was a sea of green.  Not only did the grafts take, but they shot up like rockets until the yard resembled a corn field.  My dignity was saved, and all was left was to see if they bore apples the next year…

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

